Opinions wanted on Camera for Macro work

cdub

« on: 8 May 2003, 02:11 pm »
I'm new to the field of photography.  My line of work calls for a digital camera with good macro capabilities.  I have read and gotten a few opinions reccomending the nikon coolpix 4500.  Do you guys have any opinions on this model or any reccomendations?

Chris

drphoto

« Reply #1 on: 8 May 2003, 03:51 pm »
How much can you spend? The Coolpix would not be my first choice.

You really need an SLR type camera w/ a Macro lens. The D100 or D1x would be a much better choice.

There should be a glut of these on the used market soon, with the advent of the 'super' cameras like the Kodak 14.

drphoto

« Reply #2 on: 14 May 2003, 04:03 pm »
I bought a Fuji S2 as a backup and hadn't used it much. Well my assistant showed me images from a job he shot and I gotta say....the image quality kicks the crap out of those from the much more expensive D1x!!

The fact that the nominal file size is nearly twice as large certainly helps, but the Fuji uses a different CCD sensor that gives a smoother (while still tack sharp) image.

Highly recommended. Only $2200 new...and comes with software, plus both USB and Firewire cables. Uses Nikon lenses (CPU type only)

cdub

« Reply #3 on: 15 May 2003, 03:34 am »
Thanks for the info.  Unfortunately I am on a limitied budget of about 600-700.  I think an SLR is out of the question unfortunately.  I guess I'll have to keep looking...

navi

« Reply #4 on: 31 May 2003, 03:37 pm »
I recommend the coolpix if you are on a budget esp. for macro work-as i have used the coolpix 995 (3megepix) few years back for macro work and it was great.

- hire a digicam to use first before you buy anything.

cdub

« Reply #5 on: 7 Jun 2003, 06:10 pm »
Quote from: navi
I recommend the coolpix if you are on a budget esp. for macro work-as i have used the coolpix 995 (3megepix) few years back for macro work and it was great.