power filter/conditioner

ryno

power filter/conditioner
« on: 10 Jan 2005, 05:01 am »
I'm new to the filter/conditioner idea and am looking for opinions.
Looks like there's active and passive.
Active: better at filtering, might limit current, expensive
passive: not as good, not limiting, cheaper
System one has a dedicated 20A line with a single outlet pair. One for a panamax for the video stuff, the second for some unit for the audio stuff. I could do a passive because of current limiting and/or price of large active, or get a small active and rip the wall plug out, install a double outlet pair and plug the amp into the wall.
System two is not on a dedicated line, for a JVC dig reciever and source. Don't want to spend too much for a cheap bedroom system.
Thanks for any help, Ryan

gongos

power filter/conditioner
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jan 2005, 07:03 am »
Look at Powervar and Oneac conditioners.

warnerwh

power filter/conditioner
« Reply #2 on: 11 Jan 2005, 02:00 am »
Gongo's suggestion is right on target. These can be had for pennies on the dollar from Ebay.  They are commercial designs for labs etc and well made.

ryno

power filter/conditioner
« Reply #3 on: 11 Jan 2005, 03:14 am »
These are active, correct? Would you recomend them for both systems?
Also, do these units provide isolation between components?

doug s.

• makin' music
power filter/conditioner
« Reply #4 on: 11 Jan 2005, 04:22 pm »
Quote from: ryno
These are active, correct? Would you recomend them for both systems?
Also, do these units provide isolation between components?