Advice on upgrade path for a newbie?

purplesaber

Advice on upgrade path for a newbie?
« on: 12 Mar 2010, 12:43 am »
Hello everyone!

So I put in an order for Salk SongBirds and have about a month to wait. I am new to the world of better audio and would love to get some advice and recommendations on what I can do to get the most enjoyment out of my system once those SBs arrive.

Here's what I have now: the SBs are for my living room and will be for music only. I currently have a Harman Kardon 3385 stereo receiver and all my music is stored digitally in iTunes (some lossless and some lossy). I will stream the music via an Airport Express: iTunes>Airport Express>analog mini-RCA connector>HK receiver>SongBirds.

I've been reading around trying to get ideas for what if anything I should consider as far as upgrading my set-up. What I'm trying to decide about are these various options:

1. Adding an external DAC between the Airport and the receiver. (So I can use toslink optical out of the Airport rather than the Airport's internal DAC).

2. Adding a pre-amp. Not sure I need this because I intend to only have one source (Airport) and can adjust volume via iTunes remote app on my iPhone so I don't need source switching or volume control.

3. Getting a more expensive amp.

4. Adding a tube stage in either pre-amp or amp.

5. Adding a sub-woofer

6. Using more expensive speaker cable (currently have Dayton speaker cable).

So, what if any of these would you consider if you were me? What would give me the most noticeable improvement I could hear with my non-audiophile ears? Basically what would you do first, what would you save for later, and what would you say isn't worth it?

I'm trying to balance maximizing the enjoyment of higher quality music, being reasonable with cost (let's say not above $1500 of upgrades) and keeping things attractive on the eye for my wife.