Mozart Requiem - favorite recording?

JohnR

Mozart Requiem - favorite recording?
« on: 11 Dec 2010, 09:18 am »
Any must-haves? Currently listening to Karajan... gee I wish iTunes had more metadata in it, chances of finding the CD on the shelves for more info are a bit slim.

chadh

Re: Mozart Requiem - favorite recording?
« Reply #1 on: 11 Dec 2010, 03:32 pm »

John,

I have this one, and enjoy it a great deal.

http://www.amazon.com/Mozart-Requiem-Watkinson-Johnson-Hogwood/dp/B000004CX8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1292081013&sr=8-1

I'm no expert on the various versions of the Requiem (i.e. how they have been completed) - but the Amazon reviews are pretty informative on this level.  I will echo one of the reviews, and say that I really appreciate the Soprano performance in this - it's really "pure", which I prefer to an excessive, operatic performance.  My one additional comment is that the recording is very "dry".  Granted, this thing is such a dynamic piece of music, I can understand why you'd err on this side of perfection.

Chad

Art_Chicago

« Reply #2 on: 12 Dec 2010, 06:57 pm »

http://www.amazon.com/Mozart-Requiem-Bonney-Blochwitz-Gardiner/dp/B0000040YU/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

I really like Gardiner version; I found it much better that romantic Karajan's version. Hogwood should be great too.

JohnR

« Reply #3 on: 14 Dec 2010, 06:58 am »
Hello, thank you, you know, there's a good chance that I will enjoy those versions. I will try and get one.

:thumb:

Ericus Rex

« Reply #4 on: 14 Dec 2010, 12:58 pm »

http://www.amazon.com/Mozart-Requiem-Bonney-Blochwitz-Gardiner/dp/B0000040YU/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

I really like Gardiner version; I found it much better that romantic Karajan's version. Hogwood should be great too.

Everything I've heard from Gardiner is absolutely stellar!  This one should be no exception.  I think I'll get one for myself.

borism

« Reply #5 on: 23 Dec 2010, 11:24 pm »