Enhancing my current setup

Johnny122

Enhancing my current setup
« on: 3 Nov 2020, 11:52 pm »
Hello,

While surfing on YouTube I found a GR NX-Studio review. The reviewer (NRD) only had good words: almost perfect speakers at an affordable price.  Being a woodworker, I immediately thought it would be a nice project specially as my current system is far from great. After my introduction thread, after reading few Audiocircle threads, I’m no more sure my move would the best one.  So, I need some feedback.

The system I want to upgrade is the living room one.  Our condo (top notch sound isolation) is an open area type. No real divisions between kitchen, dining room and living room.  No need to say it’s where, my wife and I, spend most of our time. There are lot of windows with draperies, hardwood floor and it’s quite large (around 27 feet wide, 40 feet deep and 9 1/2 feet high) with a fireplace in the middle.

Our needs are for TV (very few films to not say no film) and mainly classical music. Right now, I have Audioengine A5+ speakers. For power question, they look more than enough powerful for our needs.  We listen everything at a very moderate level, that may be a problem with the Audioengine ...  Speakers are each side of TV, 2 feet away from the front wall.  I’m looking for better sound quality, specially compared Sennheizer HD595.  I can hear things in the headphones that I can’t with Audioengine.  Now that’s my reference, my target. 

JLM would say “the elephant normally is the room” and he could be right.  To minimize the elephant impact, I had in mind to buy a SS amp with auto room correction to easily enhance acoustic as much as possible.  I’m not looking for a perfect sound, I’m looking to have the best possible sound without moving everything around and without converting my living room in a studio room. 

So here are few questions: