Dual Subs in Two Seperate Sealed Boxes?

rupnok

Dual Subs in Two Seperate Sealed Boxes?
« on: 14 Jul 2009, 04:12 am »
Hey all,

Forgive me if this post is redundant, but I am wondering if it's possible for me to build out a dual servo controlled sub... in separate boxes, to be placed on either side of the X-Voce, between the X-Statiks...

I LOVE the open baffle sound, and did not like the pressurization or boom from my dual ULWs (which were very small and did fit between the X-Voce and X-Statiks).

I am thinking one A370PEQ with two SW-12-16FRs in an OB configuration or two SW-12-08s in very small sealed boxes. I could probably place the amp on top of my APC power conditioner. I am a TOTAL noobie, but am super curious about Danny's sub designs... and am willing to make the time + money investment (given that the AV1/RS didn't work out!).

rupnok

Re: Dual Subs in Two Seperate Sealed Boxes?
« Reply #1 on: 14 Jul 2009, 02:18 pm »
I was thinking two of these:

* Net volume: 1.0 cu. ft.
    * Dimensions: 14" x 14" x 14-1/4" (including grill)
    * Works well with many 10" and 12" drivers

Conversely, I could get eD to build me custom boxes for roughly the same cost, but would have to pay shipping.

Total Cost:
$360 for A370PEQ
$300 for SW-12-08s (x2)
$300 for PE 1 cubic feet boxes (x2)
= ~$1000

That's getting to be a bit expensive. I guess I could move the TV Stand out of the way, and get the big dual servo sub in one box to reduce costs, and throw my components onto a stand off to the side.

TRADERXFAN

• Trillions will vanish... it's a debt blackhole.
    • GALLERY
« Reply #2 on: 14 Jul 2009, 02:29 pm »
The drivers for the servo sub have to be very close together to operate off of one amplifier. So sounds like a good idea to have a single, dual woofer, enclosure...

HT cOz

« Reply #3 on: 14 Jul 2009, 03:36 pm »