Maximizing the image of Omega 3 and 5

Alwayswantmore

Re: Maximizing the image of Omega 3 and 5
« Reply #20 on: 7 Jan 2010, 09:09 pm »
I'm a drummer, and depending on how the recording was engineered, I would say size and scale for percussion is very good on my Super 6 Monitors / Deep Hemp.

There are recordings where the vocalist is larger than life. And there are times the image of a solo trumpet, vocalist or sax can rise above the plane of the stage. I attribute this to engineering. It's actually kind of cool to hear even if it is not perfectly real.

The other big thing I love about my Alnicos and electronics is the tone. Every instrument has its unique tone / overtones. As good as any system I've heard (IMO). Lot's of body too, I think of it as an organic sound.

Never ceases to amaze me for the dollars invested.

Canada Rob

• Industry Participant
    • Industry Participant
« Reply #21 on: 22 Jan 2010, 05:23 am »
Capt. Z,

Looking at the picture of your system and where it is located, it is no wonder your beautiful Omega's are struggling to give a large soundstage, or any soundstage at all.  Give them some space to breathe, and if that does not help, check into your upline components.  I run the new Super 5 monitors, new Deep Hemp sub, 2 w/ch Decware SE84c+ SET amp, Audio Zone DAC 1, fed with 16/44 files from a headless Mac Mini.  The sound stage is like nothing I have experienced in my 30 years in audio: deep, wide, open, and with beautiful positioning of the players on the stage.  Also, low level dynamics are incredible.

Rob 

Capt. Z

« Reply #22 on: 22 Jan 2010, 02:10 pm »
Hi Rob;