Are Omegas right for me?

jonsan

Are Omegas right for me?
« on: 30 Jan 2009, 12:07 am »
Hello, this is my first time here and I apologize in advance for the length of my post. For 15+ years I was very happy with  a pair of modified Quad ESL-63s, although there were times I wish they had a wee bit more bottom end. After the panels started going out for the second time, I decided to move onto something hopefully less fussy as to reliability while still giving the musical enjoyment the Quads gave.
I have since tried Vandersteen 2Ces, Martin Logan Areius, and now vintage Yamaha NS-1000 monitors (all highly regarded). I am not an audio reviewer and have a tough time articulating my dissatisfaction with the previously mentioned speakers but something is just "wrong" to me with each of them. I have a Well Tempered/Grado feeding a VAC Avatar integrated (2 EL34 per side, switchable between triode and UL).
In my perusings on the 'net I stumbled on the Omega products and something about their simplicity and point source nature seems very appealing to me, at least conceptually. Since it may be difficult to audition these personally I am hoping someone out there can steer me in the right direction. I primarily listen to rock, jazz, soundtracks. My system is used for stereo listening only (no video). I don't care about low organ notes or sounds of explosions, etc, but realistic vocals are very important to me, as well as defined bass guitar lines. I just want to enjoy music and am not into "listening" for specific elements of a disc. Long term reliabilty is also important. I don't want to get into upgrading anything else in my system - I have always had EL34 amps and plan to stick with these even though there may be better things out there.