Your PS

Rclark

Your PS
« on: 9 Aug 2010, 04:52 am »

Hello sir, I'm afraid I'm a relative newb when it comes to understanding power supplies and such. I'm building my first system and have landed on the ClassD SuperD amplifier (I even cancelled an order on another amp to try this diy out), but have come to understand that while the amp itself is superlative there can be great gains made on the power supply itself.

You'll have to pardon me but reading your site it might as well be Turkish. Do you offer a high performance power supply that can be used in my application and how much would it cost?

Paul Hynes

• Facilitator
    • http://www.paulhynesdesign.com
Re: Your PS
« Reply #1 on: 9 Aug 2010, 11:29 am »
Hello Rclark,

Can you give me a link to the power amplifier details so I can advise you correctly.

Regards
Paul

HT cOz

« Reply #2 on: 9 Aug 2010, 02:09 pm »
Hello Rclark,

Can you give me a link to the power amplifier details so I can advise you correctly.

Regards
Paul

Hi Paul,

I would like to help out a little in this post. Here is a brief table of the 3 models available.

There are 3 basic models with a variation betwees the CDA and SDS.  The SDS adds balanced input, line buffer, and volume pot.

Of the three modules, I think it is best to focus on the 254 module because the 258 becomes current limited due to circuit protection in bridged mode.

Using the 254 module the manufacturer states that the required supply is (required Power Supply: +/- 40 Volts DC to +/- 55 Volts DC) and optimal is (+ /- 50V at about 2.5 to 5 amps is optimal).

Here is a link to the manuals for all modules:
http://classdaudio.com/index.php/manual/?___store=default

and the 254 module specifically http://classdaudio.com/documents/50V_manual.pdf 

I am by no means an expert on these amps but thought I could get you started.

Kind Regards,
Robert

HT cOz

« Reply #3 on: 9 Aug 2010, 02:12 pm »
And the rest of the info...