I need some Aaron Copeland -- recommendations?

craig in SD

I need some Aaron Copeland -- recommendations?
« on: 14 Jul 2013, 03:00 pm »
Don't own any recordings of his music, wish I did, seeking recommendations.  Good performances and good recording quality take equal footing.

dougme57

Re: I need some Aaron Copeland -- recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: 15 Jul 2013, 02:49 am »
When I want some Copland I listen to: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Louis Lane / Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring, Rodeo, Fanfare for the Common Man

I also lie ELP's rendition.

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #2 on: 15 Jul 2013, 03:25 am »
When I want some Copland I listen to: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Louis Lane / Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring, Rodeo, Fanfare for the Common Man

That's a good one to start with.  Are you looking for cd, hi rez, lp???

barrows

• Industry Participant
« Reply #3 on: 15 Jul 2013, 04:39 am »
I am no classical expert, but I do enjoy Keith Johnson's Copeland recording: Fanfare, Appalacian Spring, and The Third Symphony from Eiji Oue and the Minnesota Orchestra, on Reference Recordings.
Would love to hear from some classical experts on "best" performances/recordings of the Third Symphony (and high res PCM or DSD would be nice).   I know, I know, the best performances are often the worst recordings...

richidoo

« Reply #4 on: 15 Jul 2013, 04:49 am »
I have always enjoyed the Bernstein/NYP. It is nice on vinyl.

Alan

« Reply #5 on: 15 Jul 2013, 05:06 am »
Here's something a little bit out of the ordinary from Aaron. (Don't miss the last verse)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ms2Dr7Fw6qQ

acresm22

« Reply #6 on: 16 Jul 2013, 12:41 am »
This one is a must-have:

http://www.amazon.com/Copland-The-Music-America-Aaron/dp/B000003CZE

Great performance, great sound quality. Highly recommended.

Ern Dog

« Reply #7 on: 16 Jul 2013, 01:46 am »