Tweaking the Toshiba 3990 ......Easy

drummerwill

Tweaking the Toshiba 3990 ......Easy
« on: 23 Oct 2006, 10:23 pm »
  Guys
    I've been playing with a Toshiba 3960 for over 2 years now. I did the Swenson mod and the
 Vinnie Rossini mod minus the clock. Yes the 3960 responded very well to the mods and sounds pretty good too.
  A few weeks ago our DVD player for the TV went out. So I went to Best Buy and picked up a Toshiba 3990 this is the newest cheapest Toshiba DVD player. Right out of the box it sound pretty good, I thought it even sound better on CD's than my modded 3960.
   But thoughts of buying a decent DAC has been bugging me lately, but before I do that why not check out another cheap DVD/CD player. Word has it electronics in those cheap DVD player had improved to another level. So I bought another to try somer mods on.
   Here's my first maybe last mod on this Toshiba 3990. All I did was add Rope Caulk to the insides of
 the player. On the bottom of the case, along the back, under the power supply board ( not the main board, but I plan to do under it too later) and around the drive.

So what difference did it make, well I know the unit sounds better than my modded 3960 while listening to my Altecs.
  Now I'm checking out the difference between my modded 3990 and the stock 3990. I can tell you, while listening to both units thru headphones I can tell the difference between the two units.
  The unmodded one when listening thru headphones sounds thick and the bass sounds thick and none of the simblance or not as much Air as the unit with the Rope Caulk.
  This is an easy cheap mod, that seems to work pretty good. Check it out.

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wjrive1@sbcglobal.net/album?.dir=d4adre2&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos  

Have fun!
  Willie
« Last Edit: 23 Oct 2006, 11:32 pm by drummerwill »

DeadFish

Re: Tweaking the Toshiba 3990 ......Easy
« Reply #1 on: 6 Nov 2006, 10:56 pm »
Hey Willie,