Cartridge Alignment Tools, Facts and Fiction, A White Paper by Wayner

Wayner

I have been designing products for more then 30 years spending most of my time in the lighting industry and a few years in the suspension (for hard-disc drive) industry. I have had an intense interest in audio in general, but really got into vinyl as a young lad spending lawn mowing money on my first turntable, an AR-XA.

From that point I was hooked. As time went forward, I began to merge my designing interest with the turntable geometry, as it really intrigued me. I knew that the LP master was cut on a linear arm so the 45/45 degree grooves were always perpendicular to the center point of the spindle, but here we are, running an arcing tone arm across the face of the record.

As I grew older, I realized that my concerns were shared by others as linear tracking tone arms soon appeared in the market place. But the cost of these arms was out of reach for many, and I always wondered about the new type of error these arms would encounter. The cutting arms on a mastering lathe must certainly cost thousands of dollars; I just didn't see how these new style arms could perform at a fraction of the cost.

Time passes by again and I discovered two fellows named Baerwald and Loefgren. Both of these gentlemen also realized the problem of running an arm that makes an arc thru a record that was cut straight on a lathe. Both came up with some pretty impressive formulas and ultimately settled on the what must have been the best geometry for the arm to produce the least amount of tracking error and tracking distortion. Though their numbers are slightly different for slightly different reasons, they both ended up pretty much in the same conclusion.