Servo subs: singles or doubles?

1OldRocker

Servo subs: singles or doubles?
« on: 9 Jul 2021, 11:59 pm »
Just gathering information right now.

I'm interested in servo sub kits, and I'm wondering... what would I be gaining with a pair of double subs over a pair of single subs? I'm ruling out the triples because of the cost. I'm even having a hard time justifying the cost of doubles, (at about double the cost of singles) but... is there a significant difference in sound? Would it not matter much in a lower cost system?

I only started learning about this stuff a couple years ago and I love it, but  when I think of spending six, eight or ten thousand dollars on a system I start to question my own sanity! That said, if I'm gonna splurge on one area, it would be speakers and subs.

My present system is a Bluesound Node 2i streamer into an RME ADI-2 fs DAC into a Crown XLS 1002 Drivecore amp. I have an old pair of Polk LS-90's re-capped with Sonicaps and Mills resistors. I also have a couple cheap old mismatched subs that I'm not too thrilled with...

Right now I'm happy with the Node and RME but will eventually want to upgrade the amp. Not sure with what yet. Anything could happen after that! I'd love to build the NX-Otica's if $ allows.

If anyone has experience with both singles and doubles, I'd like to hear your thoughts. Thanks for the input!

Early B.

Re: Servo subs: singles or doubles?
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jul 2021, 12:57 am »
I assume you're talking about open baffle servo subs...if so, there's no single option.

We're here to help you spend your money, so at a minimum, you'll want a pair of double subs. Why? Because two of them sounds a lot better than one. And triples sound better than doubles.