Haydn Symphonies

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Haydn Symphonies
« on: 15 May 2020, 08:56 pm »
OK, here’s another example of a great hifi system opening up stuff that was closed off in the past.  This week I started a project to listen to all 104 symphonies of Haydn, and on a lark I picked the set recorded by Antal Dorati back in the 60’s and 70’s. 

I’ve got several sets of the Haydn symphonies and always dismissed the Dorati set because the strings sounded thin and wiry and the overall recording was somewhat problematic.  It didn’t help that his approach sounded hopelessly outdated compared to more modern recordings.

Anyway, I started playing it really by chance, because on Monday I was in a rush with work and I just wanted some Haydn in the background so I picked the first thing on the list which was the Dorati.

And now I’ve been listening to it the whole damn week.

Here’s what I notice with my upstairs setup - the strings no longer sound strident, they sound like they have a beautiful sheen.  The recording no longer seems thin or problematic.

Net result?  These performances don’t sound hopelessly outdated, they sound classy and noble in the best way possible.  Loving it.  And right now I’m up to Symphony #60, so more than halfway done!

LesterSleepsIn

• Occasionally consternated
Re: Haydn Symphonies
« Reply #1 on: 16 May 2020, 04:45 pm »
What an enjoyable project!

I have the Dorati Haydn set on vinyl (Philharmonia Hungarica. A London ffrr Full Frequency Range Recording 1970, Stereo Treasury Series.) And I agree with your earlier assessment about the strings being thin and the
recording problematic. It certainly isn’t my  ‘go to’ deep listening set but is more for background music as I putter around the house. Still, any Haydn is better than no Haydn.

I much prefer the Dorati Opera cycle on Philips.

Cheers and stay safe,
Lester

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
« Reply #2 on: 16 May 2020, 07:57 pm »