First Watt amps

pwoodard922

First Watt amps
« on: 11 Apr 2023, 02:51 am »
I am new to AudioCircle. I recently got a First Watt M2 amp.  I love it and am now curious about others’ experience with the M2 and other FW amps, especially the SIT-3 and F8.  I am using mine with an ARC LSA7 and Fritz Carrera BE speakers.  Sounds detailed and very quiet .

kd4ylq

• Esse Quam Videri
Re: First Watt amps
« Reply #1 on: 11 Apr 2023, 03:04 pm »
Hey pwoodard922,
                            welcome to the Circle. I'm not familiar with your speakers, but am glad you've found the M2 to be a good match for them. I see that the M2 has the highest noise level spec of all the FW amps, and that can be a real serious concern if you are using high efficiency speakers, so I imagine your speakers are not horns or other very sensitive speakers. I have the SIT3 and use them with Spatial M3 Turbos - it's an excellent match in all regards. I have also used the SIT3 with my full range Open Baffle Lii Song F15's and they work exceedingly well with them, so both my very high efficiency speakers work well with the SIT3. I wonder if I'd hear any amp noise with the M2? I think you'll be pleased with any of the FW amps! I want to get another one so I can biamplifiy an OB speaker I'll be building (designed by Perry Marshall) later this year.

jandrews

« Reply #2 on: 11 Apr 2023, 04:18 pm »
Hi pwoodard922,

I’m also using Fritz speakers but am pairing them with a Van Alstine solid state amp with superb results.
That said I’m planning to buy a FW F7 in the coming months just to have another flavor of amp in the house.
From what I’ve read the Fritz speakers and First Watt amps are friendly.

abd1

• DailyFrenchie
« Reply #3 on: 11 Apr 2023, 04:19 pm »