Musical Life TT in the house!

Ericus Rex

Musical Life TT in the house!
« on: 28 Mar 2011, 02:15 pm »
So I now have the turntable set up and spinning.  Compared to the Oracles I've been using for 13 years setup was an absolute breeze!  Here's a tasty slideshow of it's progress:

120 lbs of turntable on my floor.  OUCH!  Plinth is shorter box on top.  All else in bottom box.

Bottom box opened.

Plinth in place.  By now, I'm really needing some pain pills.  That sucker is 1.5" of solid slate and weighs over 60 lbs!  Fingers are slightly flattened now too.  Check out that beautiful grain!

Motor, bearing base and armpod in place.  The really cool thing about this table is that it is completely modular.  It can accomodate up to 4 arms, 4 motors (if you're that nuts), and any length of arm to 12" with no drilling or customizing.  12" arm?  No problem!  Just move the armpod out to the proper distance from spindle.  You can also put the platter anywhere you want on the plinth.

All set up with Audiomods Series IV arm and Grado Red (while my ZYX is being retipped).

In Action!  I was really concerned that it would take 10 minutes for the platter to come up to speed but it only takes about 6 seconds.  That motor must really be strong!  There is a Positive-Feedback review of this table on the web and that was the only quibble.  This seems like a slightly different table overall and it would appear that Musical Life corrected that quibble.  Platter stopping takes a mere 4 seconds.  Without the belt attached the platter spins quite freely and should take much longer to slow down.  There must be a lot of resistance in the motor when switched off.