Advice In Setting Up My New Oppo BDP-105

limits

Advice In Setting Up My New Oppo BDP-105
« on: 8 Aug 2013, 02:31 pm »
Hi Everyone:

I have a question for you all--I should be getting my new 105 today, and I am planning on removing my Outlaw model 990 from pre/pro duties and using the Oppo direct to my 5 channel amp. My question is should I run the left/right analog outputs from the dedicated 2 channel outputs on the Oppo to my mains, and then use the surround outputs to my center and surrond left/right?

Are the output levels different? I know they both use the same chip, but are implemented differently. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Sorry if this has already been discussed, I searched, but couldn't come up with anything.

Thanks;
limits

Bob in St. Louis

• Facilitator
  • "Introverted Basement Dwelling Troll"
Re: Advice In Setting Up My New Oppo BDP-105
« Reply #1 on: 8 Aug 2013, 07:18 pm »
I have no experience with Oppo, but you can wire it up that way, and see how it sounds.

limits

« Reply #2 on: 8 Aug 2013, 07:34 pm »
Hi Bob:

Thanks for the response. I will give it a shot. After ...ahem... reading the manual (RTFM!) :scratch: it appears this is the way to go. I found this on page 74 of the manual:

7. Stereo Signal: To select the audio source that will be processed and sent out through the STEREO
and the XLR BALANCED STEREO audio terminals. The available options are:

limits

« Reply #3 on: 8 Aug 2013, 08:00 pm »
My cut 'n' paste didn't work...let me try that again:

7. Stereo Signal: To select the audio source that will be processed and sent out through the STEREO
and the XLR BALANCED STEREO audio terminals. The available options are:

Down-mixed Stereo – The stereo or down-mixed stereo signals are processed and sent out
from the dedicated stereo output terminals.

Front Left/Right – The original Front Left (FL) and Front Right (FR) signals are sent out
from the dedicated stereo output terminals. The purpose is to fully utilize the better DAC