New to audiophile hobby

gregkonkel@comcast.net

New to audiophile hobby
« on: 5 May 2018, 04:21 pm »
Hello, I am new to the audiophile hobby and am looking for advice on building a new system.  looking to spend around 5k to 7k for a system to stream music from spotify or tidal.

Greg

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New to audiophile hobby
« Reply #1 on: 5 May 2018, 09:14 pm »
Welcome aboard Greag :thumb:
What is the room size?

Phil A

« Reply #2 on: 5 May 2018, 09:39 pm »
Welcome!

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #3 on: 6 May 2018, 12:03 am »
Welcome Greg.

In a smaller room you could do nicely with a BlueSound Node 2 DAC/preamp and a pair of active (self-powered) JBL LSR305 plus cables and stands for under $1000.  The Node 2 is fully MQA compliant (that Tidal offers) if that's important to you.  Near the top of the MQA compliant DAC/preamp heap within this price range I'd pick the Mytek Brooklyn DAC+ ($2200 MSRP) and combine it with a pair of HEDD Type 20 active speakers ($4000) and if needed add a pair of Rythmic L12 subs ($1018).

For best streaming results (to avoid drop outs and to have the best sound quality) make sure you have a fast/reliable internet service.

Note that I'm a speaker guy and a proponent of active speakers. 

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
« Reply #4 on: 6 May 2018, 01:10 am »
Welcome to AC, Greg.

When I bought my first system, I rushed into it only to discover (too late) that the speakers sounded like crap in my room, the amp wasn’t powerful enough, and I bought any old DAC because I didn’t grasp the importance of getting a good quality DAC.