Will a Dual 1219 Wood Base Benefit with Plastic Clay?

trackball02

I just acquired a Dual 1219 with a sock United Audio Wood base off of Craigslist, installed a Grado Wood body cartridge, and replaced the stock RCAs with Blue Jeans cables. I'm impressed with the sound quality for a $100 purchase.

Anyone have experimented with modifying the plinth with plastic clay or other material? Any improvement or don't bother?

TheChairGuy

Re: Will a Dual 1219 Wood Base Benefit with Plastic Clay?
« Reply #1 on: 5 May 2013, 05:42 pm »
Had a DUAL 701 with upgraded (heavier) wood base from a modder in the Midwest (can't remember his name, but he did great work and he's a woodworker by trade so the new base was well made).

Added Plast-i-clay to that base and found the effects were so-so in benefit.  It didn't hurt the presentation, but I strained to hear the benefits whereas in certain decks the benefits are soooo obvious.

The failing on the 701 was primarily the arm - it's a trapped energy mess (which includes that DUAL proprietary plastic headshell). The biggest upgrade was constrained layer damping dots - experimenting with positioning - and I had either plast-i-clay or damping dots at the base/pillar, too.

It ended up singing once I did these things.  At the time I had like 5 tables so I sold it off to a chap in Taiwan who I hope was very happy with it.  The 701 had a terrific/strong direct drive motor (pre-quartz era), but because it floated, had an expansive soundstage like a really good belt drive (but with more exact timing and better sounding piano and other matters that DD can often do better than inexpensive belt drives)