Questions about the FAL

pipboy2000

Questions about the FAL
« on: 10 Nov 2003, 04:58 am »
Hello everyone! I just want to start off saying that I am a newbie to audio so please excuse me if I sound ignorant.
Now on to the other stuff. I was checking the Vsac report on audioasylum when kept crossing on the mention of the bent flat twin drive speaker.  It seems like a lot of people liked it. Then I went to the Bent audio site where the owner was selling the driver to that speaker.  I went to sibatech but was confused on some parts they were saying. So can anyone answer the questions below?
Is the FAL driver full range?
Does it have a crossover?
I am thinking of doing a DIY speaker with absolutely one flat speaker (no ribbon tweeter or Heil driver) for each channel and thats it, will it work?

John Chapman

• Facilitator
    • http://www.bentaudio.com
Questions about the FAL
« Reply #1 on: 12 Nov 2003, 03:23 pm »
Hello!

Sorry for the delayed reply! I was away for a few days but am back online now.

Thanks for the post and the interest in the FAL's. The FAL's are what I would call a 'wideband driver'. I would also put most all 'fullrange' speakers in the 'wideband' catagory - many having very little real low end response desite heroic efforts with complex cabinets to coax bass out of them. When I played with Lowther/REPS drivers I gave up on the low end and went with a front horn for the driver and then TAD 1601's on the low end below about 150Hz. Bert's Oris horns are like this and can work quite well. The only truely fullrange speaker I have heard is the soundlabs. They are great but not easy to drive or fit in most rooms so that limits them a bit.

Getting back to the FAL's I have measured response from 40 Hz or so to 10K. They fall off above 10K so most anyone would prefer having the tweeter with them.  They do run with no crossover on the FAL driver and just a single cap on the tweeter.