What A Long Strange Trip

Toys4Boys

What A Long Strange Trip
« on: 29 Oct 2023, 02:34 pm »
I've been selling audio for over 40 years fueled by my first and most enduring love, music. Have been collecting records for over 50 years and played with a lot of gear for almost as long. Recently I was bitten by the DIY bug, in the process of building an Eros 2 phono pre, waiting for an ANK DAC1.1, getting ready to pull the trigger on a TU-8900. I've been intrigued by SET amps for a few decades but never played with any, the closest that I think I came was a pair of Jadis JA80s, glorious on some music a bit lacking on others and the price  :duh:

I have also been researching speakers to go with an SET and the XStatics seem to check off almost all the boxes, wish that I had the space and budget for the NX-Otica!

One box that they don't quite check off is the FlatPak aesthetics. Once upon a time I was married and had a house where I set up a nice wood shop, so now not much space to do woodwork. A poster had a link to veneersupplies.com and while I could probably do something like that for the baffle I'm wondering if there is a clever way to deal with the corner/edges?

planet10

• Industry Participant
  • Frugal-phile (tm)
    • planet10-hifi
Re: What A Long Strange Trip
« Reply #1 on: 29 Oct 2023, 05:19 pm »
The TU-8900, especially with 2A3, seems to be a special amplifier.

A SET with typically highish output impedance really wants to see a loudspeaker with a fairly flkat impedance. What does teh impedance of the xstatic look like/

dave

Toys4Boys

« Reply #2 on: 29 Oct 2023, 05:35 pm »
Here is a link https://gr-research.com/product/x-statik-kit/ to the product page, scroll down and there are graphs of freq. response and impedance.

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
« Reply #3 on: 29 Oct 2023, 05:52 pm »