New to this with an ST-70

vtst70guy

New to this with an ST-70
« on: 5 Nov 2019, 10:28 pm »
Hi all,

I am new to this and just purchased a rebuilt St-70 from a guy in South Dakota who has rebuilt a ton of them.  Right out of the gate, I found that the preamp I had purchased (a Schiit Saga) did not seem up to the task of creating any real volume with the amp.  In fact, I am returning it and I have purchased a PAT-3 to replace it.  (Should arrive soon.)

I guess my question is this, I am replacing a solid state Kenwood KR-6600 with this dyanaco and am now worried that is till not be loud enough even with the new preamp.  Can someone attest to how loud these are when properly set up? I am not looking to break window or anything, but I like my music pretty loud.  Also, I am running a set of Heathkit 1373 speakers.

Any advice would be great.  Thanks!  Liam

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New to this with an ST-70
« Reply #1 on: 5 Nov 2019, 10:40 pm »
Welcome  :thumb:
Check the output preamp voltage and impedance with the power amp sensitivity and impedance, impedance ratio must be at least 10x.

mick wolfe

« Reply #2 on: 6 Nov 2019, 01:08 am »
I drive a Latino ST 70 with a Schitt Saga. No issues whatsoever with plenty of gain. I think there's an issue in this aside from the Saga.  Maybe call the amp builder ( I assume Will Vincent ? ) and explain the problem.

rotarius

« Reply #3 on: 6 Nov 2019, 01:33 am »
What sources do you use?  How efficient are the speakers? The Saga adds no gain to the mix.  You should ask the seller if he used a low gain board or not. 

vtst70guy

« Reply #4 on: 6 Nov 2019, 02:34 am »