Newly completed HT

rklein

• My finest audio piece ever!!
Newly completed HT
« on: 4 Jan 2024, 03:50 pm »
I thought I would share my recently completed dedicated HT.

I am a long time symphony orchestral musician who has at the age of 69(soon to be 70 this month) decided to build a dedicated HT(go figure...) which I have just finished about a month ago. The room is 16' x 22' and I am running a 9.2.4 system. The original thought was 90% movies and 10% music.  That ratio has shifted to about 75/25.

Before I start, a little about this room... I am an avid woodworker with a full shop above my garage. Except for drywall work, everything in this room was made by me. The first thing I made were the speaker stands for the surround bed layer.  If you look at the pictures below you will notice that all of the Chane 740's in the bed layer are upside down(meaning the port is up). I asked Jon Lane(owner of Chane Music & Cinema) about this and he said to try them oriented this way. I could not tell the difference either way so it made easier when designing the stands. The stands are made of maple cabinet grade plywood with solid maple on the outside and top and bottom.

Room treatments are a must to give any speaker a chance at greatness. I was going to go the GIK Acoustics route but through an audio buddy of mine(thanks TedB!), I contacted Jeff Hedback out of Indianapolis who is a musician and recording studio designer. He will also design dedicated home listening rooms although it isn't his main gig. I sent him all the info he requested regarding my room and he came up with a design after computer modeling my room. I cannot go too deep into how I constructed as it wouldn't be fair to Jeff.