Newbie here - Should crossover boards be adhered inside the cabinet ?

fcostantini

Newbie here, just getting back into the hobby now that my basement is finished and I have a man-cave!

I saw Danny's videos for XLS builds, and he uses a few screws to mount the crossover inside the cabinet.  Would it be worthwhile to use some silicone adhesive dabs under the crossover board as well as the screws to help minimize potential vibrations?

Thanks,
Frank 

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
I super glue hard rubber washers from the plumbing repair section of a hardware store to the underside of the boards where the screw holes are. then the screws go through the board and washers.

eichlerera1

Washers or silicone will do little to damp box vibrations.
If you're serious, use external crossovers.....

g3rain1

Washers or silicone will do little to damp box vibrations.
If you're serious, use external crossovers.....
Is there any evidence to suggest caps inductors or resistors are microphonic? These aren't tubes were talking about.

ric

A few years back I replaced a few caps with some coke can sized caps (Jupiter). Needless to say the XOver did not fit back in the small space that it came from so an outboard Xover was necessary. At one point I was talking to the Herbie's Audio guy and he was saying sonically if you use a caulking type of adhesive to use blue RTV silicone which I did, to attach one cap to another. Eventually I tried using IsoAcoustics oreas under the glued together coke can sized Xover instead of it sitting on the ground (wood over concrete) and I DID hear a difference in sound quality. Not huge but enough so that if you can hear, say changes in speaker cables, you should be able to hear a difference.
   IMO all Xover's should be outboard and modular, which would allow changing out of Xover parts or the whole unit, as well as vibration isolation. YMMV!

Peter J

• Hmmmm