NX-Otica difficulty level and questions

gr_Enjoyer

NX-Otica difficulty level and questions
« on: 12 Sep 2023, 01:39 am »
Newbie here, I've been doing some research in anticipation of building a pair of NX Otica's. At first I wanted to start with the NX Studios, but I've come to the conclusion that I want to shoot for the highest quality 2.0 channel and expand to a servo sub from there for both music listening and home theater. I have never built a speaker kit, and I have limited knowledge about it, so it is intimidating. Is this possible as a first time build?

I do plan to follow some build threads, but does the kit come with step by step instructions too, or is it meant to be self explanatory?

Is there a recommended brand of glue, paint or stain for the wood, and would it be done before or after assembly?

I have a medium sized rectangular room and I plan to listen about 8 feet from the speaker position, and allow 3 feet of air behind them, however one will be around a foot to the side of a wall/cabinet, is that going to be a problem?

Lastly are there any other recommendations before jumping into it?

Danny Richie

Re: NX-Otica difficulty level and questions
« Reply #1 on: 12 Sep 2023, 03:49 pm »
Newbie here, I've been doing some research in anticipation of building a pair of NX Otica's. At first I wanted to start with the NX Studios, but I've come to the conclusion that I want to shoot for the highest quality 2.0 channel and expand to a servo sub from there for both music listening and home theater. I have never built a speaker kit, and I have limited knowledge about it, so it is intimidating. Is this possible as a first time build?

We do have first time builders start with top level kits. It is and can be done.

I do plan to follow some build threads, but does the kit come with step by step instructions too, or is it meant to be self explanatory?