Have you ever or do you plan a DAC CDP shootout

buckeyefanandy

Have you ever or do you plan a DAC CDP shootout
« on: 10 May 2006, 08:08 pm »
As an avid reader of the NTAJ circle I would like to know if there have been any other shootouts similar to the amp shootout?  

I am new to the hobby, only about 6 months in and need to find info that compares some budget gear head to head.  I am looking for DAC and Tubed Preamps, as well as a CDP.  Any ideas of good places to start.

Hard to find any gear to hear first hand in Ohio so I will have to rely on the experience of others for now.

Thanks

andy

texasphile

Budget components
« Reply #1 on: 16 Jun 2006, 02:01 am »
Hello Andy,

There has not been another comparison besides the digital amp showdown as far as I know.  However, having owned low and mid-level components over the last ten years or so has led me to a few conclusions.  First, you have to decide on Solid State versus Tubes/Valves.  Personally, I prefer solid state amps and tube-based preamps.  Next, buy used.  I have purchased from dealers here on audiocircle.com and from folks on Audiogon.com without a problem.  Just be careful who you deal with (ask around or ask the seller for their ebay name so that you can read the sellers feedback on that website).  Currently, I own a Dodd Audio Intro preamp (purchased used on audiocircle), a integrated tube-based amp/preamp (purchased from Response Audio here on audiocircle), a California Audio Labs transport (purchased used on audiogon.com), a DAC-72 purchased from GR-Research ( http://www.gr-research.com/components/lite_dacs.htm).

I hope that helps,
Chris

brj

Re: Have you ever or do you plan a DAC CDP shootout
« Reply #2 on: 14 Jul 2006, 04:21 am »
Hi Andy.