Help with Nuforce Dia

gurmi100

Help with Nuforce Dia
« on: 25 Sep 2012, 10:48 am »
Hi everybody! I recently bought a Nuforce Dia through Ebay, as it was not available in India. As per the specifications on the Nuforce site, the Dia has a headphone/ line-out capability. However, the manual that came with the unit states that the 3.5mm jack is meant only for the sub-woofer.
I seek help on two points:
1. Can I safely connect a headphone to the Dia? Can the line out be used to input to an external (better) amplifier?
2. Which of these bookshelves do well with the Dia - Dali Zensor 1, PSB Alpha B1, Boston A25?
This is my first post and I am a complete NOOB; please do help me out.

nuforce-casey

• Industry Participant
Re: Help with Nuforce Dia
« Reply #1 on: 26 Sep 2012, 12:51 am »
Hi,
The 3.5mm is safe for either line out or headphones.  As for the speakers, look for one with has higher impedance and higher sensitivity.

For example,

A)  4-ohm, 89dB/w
B) 8-ohm, 89dB/w  => choose B.

gurmi100

« Reply #2 on: 26 Sep 2012, 08:55 am »
Thanks Casey! Your reply is reassuring. However, would there be loss of audio-quality if line-out is taken to an external amplifier? I ask because addition of an external amplifier would open up my speaker choices; as of now I have limited choices.
As far as Bookshelves mentioned in my earlier post are concerned all have sensitivity around 87-88db and lowest impedance value is ~4 ohms for Boston A25 & PSB Alpha B1 and ~5 ohms for Dali Zensor1 (as per Stereophile measurements). I was just wondering if anyone has used the suggested speaker(s) with Dia/ icon of if there are some known good matches for the Dia in the budget bookshelf category.
Thanks once again for replying to my queries!

nuforce-casey

• Industry Participant
« Reply #3 on: 27 Sep 2012, 09:48 pm »