Magnepan 1.6QR Crossover Upgrade?

jspotts37215

Magnepan 1.6QR Crossover Upgrade?
« on: 5 Sep 2022, 10:36 pm »
Apologies if this is covered in another post but as a newbie I'm not allowed to search the forum....

I have the upgrade kit from GR in hand and have figured out how to remove the side trim without damage, remove all the staples, and slide up the sock to give me access. Am wondering if others who've installed this upgrade have some advice (or even better, pics to share) on parts placement within the space available? Also be interested in any comments on sonic improvements you've noted. BTW, I am planning to use the tube connectors using some thin black phenolic to replace the factory connector plate. Thx.

Danny Richie

Re: Magnepan 1.6QR Crossover Upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: 7 Sep 2022, 09:42 pm »
There should be just enough space in there for the new parts. You might have to get a little creative with where you put them though. They don't leave a lot of space.

Disassembly and reassembly of the speaker is the hardest part of the upgrade.

Using some black phenolic material to replace the original connector plate is a great idea.

jspotts37215

« Reply #2 on: 8 Sep 2022, 02:28 pm »
Thanks. There sure isn't much space. My concern is having sufficient separation between the inductors. There's not enough depth to orient the smaller one perpendicular to the larger one. Going external is feeling like an attractive option at this point. Going to think about this a bit before plunging ahead.

Danny Richie

« Reply #3 on: 8 Sep 2022, 10:04 pm »
Thanks. There sure isn't much space. My concern is having sufficient separation between the inductors. There's not enough depth to orient the smaller one perpendicular to the larger one. Going external is feeling like an attractive option at this point. Going to think about this a bit before plunging ahead.

External is a good solution.

I just designed all new crossovers for the 3.7i and externally mounting it was a must.