Drummers

Bob2

• De gustibus non est disputandum
Drummers
« on: 1 Nov 2018, 11:25 pm »
I played drums for many years and stopped because of some hip issues. Now that it has been fixed I have been thinking about playing again.
At 65 I'm not looking to gig, just play for some exercise and fun. I have been playing guitar for a few years but not much chance of raising my heart rate unless someone scratches my guitar.

Looking at E drums so that the neighbors won't have to put up with the noise.
Did try out a set at Guitar center the other day and liked the experience. Surprising how they play pretty close to acoustic drums. Head response is good and adding some nuance is possible now. Lots of options for down loading other kit sounds and playing along to some tunes on a memory stick. Also a smaller foot print.
Will be more enjoyable than walking to no where on a tread mill. Should help build some muscle memory and coordination too.
Cheaper and less conspicuous than an old man driving around in a convertible.

Anyone playing for fun?

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Drummers
« Reply #1 on: 2 Nov 2018, 12:09 am »
Not me but my son bother his mother with a acoustic full set.
If you want acoustics I would suggest a RMV entry level.
Digital drums are very apparent even at low res recordings.

The digital Hammond from Korg and Suzuki were quite successfull to made a beautiful organ sound, both are quite pleasand to listen live and on recordings.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJzRXRqBj5Y

mfsoa

« Reply #2 on: 2 Nov 2018, 12:16 am »
Me too Brother  :thumb:

I played a lot in school through college then lost touch with people when life and kids happened.