WTT Classic: Extreme wow/flutter: motor or circuitry?

AnalogueLove

Hello,

I need some help concerning extreme wow/flutter on my WTT which turned out after using a test record during re-calibration of the device. Pls apologize for the long post; it describes what I found out yet. Anyone who can help right away may not need to read the details below.

I would like to refurb this record player but this would be silly if the wow/flutter cannot be resolved.
The player sounds very good but could do much better. I have little knowledge of electronics, e.g. I can do easy soldering if someone tells me what to put where, but don't know much about circuitry. I have a standard multimeter and a simple soldering iron.

Summary & Questions
- The motor show serious wow/flutter (+/- 0.4%) using a test LP tone, as well as a strobe tachometer app. That's too much for a high end model.
- The reason may be the (simple) circuitry, which has been added to suit the German 240V, or a wrongly placed part (capacitor)
- The root cause may also be the motor, as it was dismantled to check for mechanical/corrosion problems inside. Re-assembling was done according to the motor vendor's directions, but with no calibration.
- It seems that the 2 coils inside (with their 2 iron stator shields each) drive the permanent magnet rotor shaft slightly asynchronous.

Q: How can I get wow/flutter to an acceptable value (e.g. 0.05% or so)
Q: Does anyone has the same problem?
Q: What purpose has the phase-shifting capacitor soldered between the power resistors into the power cable?
Q: What wow/flutter is expected?
Q: What parts are in the power cable in original WTT classic models (mine was modified by whoever for German 240V) ?
Q: Do the motor stator sheets need an assembly calibration beyond eyeballing their position (all 4 must match at the square notch, the 2 with rings must be the inner ones)
Q: Do the 2 motor coils need the same phase or a phase shifted signal between them?