A helping hand in designing a 100W/channel amplifier

ttan98

Roger,

I have been fascinated and an admirer of your RM200, 100wats/channel amplifier. I would
like to try to design an amplifier similar to RM200 but NOT a clone. I have a topology in
mind I would appreciate if you can answer a few questions I currently have in mind which I
need your assistance. Your answers do not have to refer to the design details from RM200
but a design you think will work well.

I have some experience with design, construct and installation of valve amplifiers, I have
built many units in the past. I like to place a few design questions here and if you decide
to help me I will keep the questions short and succinct and will also keep the follow up to
your answers to a minimum. I envisage I will have about  4-5 questions.

Please let me your decision. A favorable response is most welcomed.

ttan98

Re: A helping hand in designing a 100W/channel amplifier
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jun 2014, 03:00 am »
Hi,

I forget to include one important fact, I am building this amp for myself and for a friend. I am not interested in marketing it commercially. BTW I live in Australia.

Roger A. Modjeski

« Reply #2 on: 7 Jun 2014, 06:27 am »
Gooday,

sure ask away

ttan98

« Reply #3 on: 9 Jun 2014, 01:17 pm »
Roger,

Many thanks for a positive response to my request. My questions are not so much asking your
response to my detailed design but rather general questions to ensure a design topology
that will work well, i.e. design and build  a 100W amp. at low distortion and reasonable amount of Damping Factor.

1. I agree with you that to design a reliable and long lasting amp, it should be bias at
low current and KT88/KT120 is strapped in Pentode mode, at anode set at around 700Vdc and
screen at 320Vdc. KT88 in Pentode mode has high output impedance, how would you reduce it? 
From what I know from Tube design a shunt feedback on the output tube, ie KT88 would reduce