How much will OC705 compress?

AB

How much will OC705 compress?
« on: 25 Sep 2008, 02:56 pm »
I am experimenting with decoupling my speakers from the suspended floor in my listening room.

705 has been suggested as a platform material but I have never used any of the OC stuff before so I don't know how resilient 705 is when loaded.

The speakers weigh about 220# a piece. Their bases are 16x15 inches or 240 square inches so the platform will be loaded at a little more than 1 pound per square inch.

Does anyone know the compression stats for 705?

Right now I am trying some Ethafoam packaging foam that works pretty well at decoupling but will compress over 24 hours. The compression in it will set at around 25%. Denser foam will compress less and set at approx 10% but finding the denser Ethafoam is a pain.

The OC rigid panels are not available in my local building supply stores so or I would have tried it already. They only sell the blue foam board. I don't think that would work at all.

Thanks

bpape

• Industry Participant
  • I am serious and don't call my Shirley
    • Sensible Sound Solutions
Re: How much will OC705 compress?
« Reply #1 on: 25 Sep 2008, 03:00 pm »
705 won't compress a lot.  If it were me, I'd use 2-3 layers of it with something like plywood or MDF in between the layers.

Bryan

AB

« Reply #2 on: 25 Sep 2008, 03:20 pm »
Thanks for the reply Bryan.

I need to keep the speakers as close to their normal height as possible - raising them up just puts them out of their best position for listening on the tweeter axis. I think adding the plywood or MDF between would add too much height.

The foam is dead easy to work with. It cuts with a sharp knife, it's slippery, and there is no need to cover it up other than aesthetics. I would think the 705 would be a bit more messy to deal with. But I am willing to try it.

Does anyone know of a source for Ethafoam 600 or 900?

bpape

• Industry Participant
  • I am serious and don't call my Shirley