..audiophile fuses..yeah I know

es347

• Facilitator
  • ..I've got my eye on you...which one you say?
..audiophile fuses..yeah I know
« on: 4 Nov 2021, 11:49 pm »
..some of you guys may know that I’m a registered professional engineer, a EE in fact and as such pretty much as skeptical as it gets.  Several years ago I was with the crowd that said power cords simply couldn’t impact sonics, no way but since then after A/Bing OEM cords with the “exotic” variety I came around and now have 5 Lessloss power cords in permanent residence.  Enter the audiophile fuse.  Again I shook my head and said you’ve got to be kidding and laughed it off as just so much audio snake oil.  Recently I’ve read accounts from what I consider credible sources that say a fuse really can affect sonics.  It piqued my interest somewhat, to the point I was seriously considering taking advantage of the 30 day money back deals to be had.  Long story short I ordered two Synergistic Research purple fuses for my MC601 monoblocks.  That particular fuse seemed to the top dog so I bit the bullet and dinged my VISA card for the $400.  I received them today and replaced the two OEM fuses.  Yes Virginia there is such a thing as fuse upgrades  8).  I’ll try and avoid all the audio journalist speak but will say that subtleties that were buried in the mix are now easily heard.  I’ve been listening to several tracks with which I’m intimately familiar and am hearing things that were there before but not particularly noticeable.  There’s just more of everything and it’s going to be tough pulling myself away from my listening chair tonight and reintroducing myself to the Mrs.  Now I’m sure there will be several viewers who think I’m either smoking something or am a shill for SR…I can understand that as I’ve been there.  But I can honestly say that these darn things are the real deal biases aside!  SR isn’t the only dog in the show.  There are several exotic fuse mfrs and they may be just as efficacious.  Bottom line