Modifying the X-Statik to become the X-TC

S Clark, Mallard1 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 2157 times.

JustPlainNuts

Modifying the X-Statik to become the X-TC
« on: 12 Feb 2024, 10:29 pm »
So, it’s been a journey. I discovered Danny and Gr-Research a few years ago and thanks to his tutelage via his YouTube videos, email exchanges and a phone call have brought be up to a whole new level of understanding in speaker design and audio reproduction. I have been studying audio since high school in the 80’s and the learning never stops. Thank you, Danny, for sharing your knowledge.

I’ve built several of Danny’s designs such as the X-LS Encores and the Encore Center speakers. I’ve used the flat packs and took some liberty on the Encore designs for a custom project as well.

I am a hobbyist and like branching out and experimenting with audio, so I have decided to take some liberties with Danny’s X-Statik design. First, I want to double the amount of low frequency drivers so that there will be two of the M-165-16’s in a sealed enclosure at the bottom of the speaker and two more above the MTM drivers in a sealed enclosure also. For stability, the sides of each speaker will be very similar to the NX-Tremes in that the inside side of the speaker will be a solid piece of MDF and the outside side of the speaker will be open for the MTM section of the speaker but sealed for the low frequency drivers. I hope this all makes sense.