Buying used

saarnold

Buying used
« on: 31 Jul 2022, 01:24 pm »
Hi all,
May be buying a used Bryston BDA 3 (2017 model 000571).
Just wondered if there is anything I should be aware of or look out for as I am relatively new to the digital side of HiFi.
I think it has the HDMI board fitted so it is fully featured.
Is it able to take all the latex updates ect
The dealer I am buying from says it’s in superb condition and looking at the photos it looks that way.
Thanks
In advance

Saarnold

thorman

Re: Buying used
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jul 2022, 03:22 pm »
 I guess I would think about Repairs, since it is no longer under warranty. Also ask Bryston before you buy if there are parts and the ability to have it repaired if and when it needs it.

gbaby

« Reply #2 on: 1 Aug 2022, 01:16 pm »
Hi all,
May be buying a used Bryston BDA 3 (2017 model 000571).
Just wondered if there is anything I should be aware of or look out for as I am relatively new to the digital side of HiFi.
I think it has the HDMI board fitted so it is fully featured.
Is it able to take all the latex updates ect
The dealer I am buying from says it’s in superb condition and looking at the photos it looks that way.
Thanks
In advance

Saarnold

I'd buy it in a heartbeat if the price is right. These units don't break down.

vonnie123

« Reply #3 on: 1 Aug 2022, 05:29 pm »
Bryston gear is very reliable.  BDA-3 is a current model, so parts “should” be available. 

Does your dealer offer a brief warranty period?  30 days, 60 days?

DACs on whole don’t fail much.

CSI

« Reply #4 on: 1 Aug 2022, 07:02 pm »
Buying a used Bryston DAC should be a very safe bet. Unless there are cosmetic issues, it will be as good as a new one - and it's already broken in (if you believe that DACs need breaking in....)

AudioDuck

• Music. It’s all about the music.
« Reply #5 on: 2 Aug 2022, 02:45 am »
I second the points of this being a safe purchase.