To DAC or not to DAC

ccpeabody

To DAC or not to DAC
« on: 18 Jan 2020, 12:46 pm »
First off, apologies if this is posted in the wrong section.  I've just discovered AudioCircle and am still getting used to all the sub forums.

I was thinking of getting into vinyl again when I discovered Tidal.  I'm new to Tidal and streaming HiRez music.  I'm currently streaming from my MacBook Pro Laptop via hardwire to my Anthem MRX510 Receiver.  I would guess I'm not taking advantage of the HiRez portion of the service as I think my Laptop is acting as the DAC in this case and I have no clue what kind of signal quality is leaving the Laptop.

My questions are... A)  Would I notice a difference if I were to pick up a Bryston BDA-1, 2 or 3 with Tidal?  B)  Would I just hardwire my Laptop to the DAC first and then to the receiver or Amp or would that not still utilize the Laptop DAC?  C)
 Lastly, would I notice a substantial difference if I routed my Oppo BDP-103 (playing a CD) out to a DAC, like the Bryston BDA series, before sending it to a receiver or Amp?  (Good sound being subjective)

Cheers!

Bluish

Re: To DAC or not to DAC
« Reply #1 on: 18 Jan 2020, 05:22 pm »
You could see if your model MacBook Pro has an optical digital connection hidden in the headphone jack. I’m using my MacBook this way and I bypass the laptop DAC and send the optical input to my receiver and use the receiver DAC (or you could use external DAC). Check laptop specs for outputs and see if it has optical. You use a Toslink cable with a special mini jack (3.5mm?) adaptor. See pic. You can adjust the output in Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app

Bluish

« Reply #2 on: 18 Jan 2020, 05:26 pm »
P.S. I set the optical output using Audio MIDI Setup to 24bit/96 kHz
Chris

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
« Reply #3 on: 18 Jan 2020, 06:27 pm »