Tone arm and cartridge matching

GentleBender

Tone arm and cartridge matching
« on: 22 Dec 2019, 10:39 pm »
I am a vinyl amateur at best, but have enjoyed the experience immensely. I recently upgraded my cartridge to a Hana ML to give a good MC cartridge a shot. I am wondering if it is a good match with the Audioquest PT-5 tone arm? I am still using an excellent VPI HW-19 upgraded with the TNT platter, but feel like I am missing something.

The Hana ML specs are:
ML
Stylus: Nude Microline tip
Cantilever: Aluminum
Magnet: Alnico
Magnetic circuitry: Pure Iron/Cryo treatment
Coil wire: High Purity Copper
Cartridge Housing: POM (Delrin)/Brass
Output level: 0.4mv/1KHz
Output balance: <1dB/1KHz
Vertical Tracking force: 2gr
Trackability: 70μ/2gr
Compliance: 10 x 10-6 cm/dyne
Channel separation: 30dB/1KHz
Frequency response: 12-45,000Hz
Impedance: 8Ω/1KHz
Suggested lord Impedance: > 100Ω
Cartridge weight: 9.5g
Body Color: Black

rotarius

Re: Tone arm and cartridge matching
« Reply #1 on: 22 Dec 2019, 11:48 pm »
Phone stage?  What are you unhappy about?  The AQ tonearm is quite nice.  Perhaps you don't like the cart, the microline tip needs to be set up perfectly, not very forgiving.

GentleBender

« Reply #2 on: 23 Dec 2019, 01:46 am »
I can admit that the setup may be lacking. I am using an Odyssey Audio Suspiro for a phono stage and find that I need to turn my Odyssey Audio Cyclops almost full throttle to get good dynamics from it. It seems to be missing bass mostly compared to my cheap Dac and digital setup. Was hoping to surpass the digital gear with the cartridge, but it may require more work. I am willing to work on it, but need some recommendations.

bentconvert

« Reply #3 on: 23 Dec 2019, 01:58 am »
Are your phono stage settings correct for the new cartridge. Sounds like you need more gain.

GentleBender

« Reply #4 on: 23 Dec 2019, 02:01 am »