help needed on restoring a mistreated musical reference rm-5 mkr

stehei

Dear all,

I'm a newbie to this forum, at forehand, I'm from the netherlands,
so please excuse my poor language since I'm not a native English speaker.

1,5 years ago I was on the lookout for a tube preamp and found a
very unusual preamp of a brand I've never heard before of in the
Netherlands: Audio Reference. After some research we went to the second hand shop
where it was located, and found a preampt with an external power
supply, but could not get it to work. We bought the unit as is for
50 euro, and went home to investigate.

When we opened the unit it turned out we had mistaken the
volume and balance control since someone had changed the
pot-meters. But a lot more was changed. The amp was heavily
mutilated, changed, adapted, you pick the words. The attached
pictures show what was done to the amp.

However, it did work. And sounded rather good, for as far as we
could determine. But the external power supply got dangerously
hot, and when determining some voltages we got some very strange
readings.

We contacted roger at ram-labs, and he sent us the schematics,
wondering how anybody could destroy an amp this beautiful, and
after a while we went to work in restoring this amp.

We are almost done in getting the amp in the original state, on its
own power supply etc. But we have one problem we could use your
help. Not only the top, bot also the bottom was heavily modificated.
Signal paths have been cut, new one built etc.

My question is, is there anybody owning this amp who would be willing
top open his unit up and take a picture of how the print layout looks from
the bottom. This would help us tremendously in checking if all the
paths are back to original. Just to make sure,

Any help would be highly appreciated

The top

and what they did to the bottom

kind regards

stefan

Goosepond

• Virna!
Stefan,

I just sent you a PM.

Gene

rbwalt