RM200II tube matching and biasing questions

nnck

• Music Collector, Audiophile, in that order :)
RM200II tube matching and biasing questions
« on: 10 May 2014, 03:25 pm »
If anyone hasnt noticed by the numerous comments and questions I have made recently, I now own a Music Reference RM200II-T that I am extremely excited about. I've had it for a couple of weeks now with the original supplied Gold Lion Genelex KT88 tubes and have been thoroughly enjoying it with my Modwright LS100 pre and Deadalus DA1.1AP speakers.

First let me note, that I am completely new to tube amps, so forgive my newbie questions. I have a slightly nit-picky, hair-splitting question about the tube matching and biasing that I am hoping Roger or someone very knowledgeable can chime in on. I got hold of a multimeter to do some reading and very minor adjustments to the bias to match the 2 sides as well as possible according to the well-laid out instructions in the manual. Here's what I got for my readings (the average of the 2 sides it what we are trying to match on this amp):

Left side: V5=37.6; V3=43.7; avg=40.6
Right side: V4=40.7; V6=39.7; avg=40.2

Avgs are close enough is what I am thinking. But my questions are in regards to the 2 tubes on the left side: 37.6mV for one and 43.7mV for the other. The individual readings for the 2 tubes differ from one another by 6mV, whereas the right side tubes differ by only 1mV. Keep in mind that with this amp, when you adjust bias, you are adjusting both tubes on a side simultaneously (ie. you are not adjusting each tube individually). So if I make adjustments up or down on the left side, both tubes tend to move up or down by roughly the same amounts.

Since you dont adjust bias on each tube individually, my question is whether the 6mV difference with the left side tubes is acceptable, or if I should make any other changes or adjustments? Is it really just the average that matters, or should the 2 tubes on each side be close to one another as well?