Devialet Expert Pro 250 with Chord M-Scaler: Off the equipment merry go round.

Freo-1

As a typical audiophool, I've been swapping equipment in and out for too many years.  Whilst overall there has been a general improvement in sound quality, there also has been a lot sideways movement as well.  You change out a given component, you hear a difference, and wham, you decide it's an improvement.  After a couple of weeks, you start noticing the flaws in the so called improved setup.  So, you jump back on the merry go round, look to change out a different component once finances allow, and repeat the process.  It's a fun but frustrating and expensive method we are all guilty of to a greater or lesser extent.  Over time, you do lock in one by one the components/speakers that are designated as keepers, and hopefully the process slows down :-)

Getting the amplifier/speaker combination is perhaps the trickiest part of the equation.  For me, I settled on a pair of Tyler Acoustic Linbrook Signature Floor standing speakers.  These have over a thousand dollars in upgraded wiring and crossover components.  All the drivers are SEAS Excel/Millennium drivers, housed in a custom cabinet that weighs 135 lbs.  The amount of cash one would have to spend to improve these is just cost prohibitive.  I've heard speakers that were far more costly that did not sound as good.  Supplemented the speakers with a SVS PC 4000 cylinder subwoofer, which was easy to integrate into the listening environment.

About nine months ago, sent in a Devialet D-Premier back to the factory in Paris for a upgrade to a Expert Pro 250.  Devialet was great to do with business with, took about three weeks to turn around, first class service all the way.  I wanted to get the improvements with streaming options, along with whatever improvements were wrought with the revised DAC/amp stage.