New Warped Record

TJHUB

New Warped Record
« on: 23 Aug 2023, 11:25 pm »
I recently purchased a turntable, and just got back into vinyl.  I haven't had a turntable in 35 years, and I was a teen then.  I have 75 records dating back to the early 60's through the mid 80's.  All of mine are pretty flat and in great shape after all these years.  I've purchased several new records from Acoustic Sounds, and all of them have been very flat or near flat.  I just received a record from Amazon that unfortunately is warped.  I'd say it's out by 3/16” towards the outside edge where it's the worst.  It plays fine, but I hate watching my cart bob up and down.  Since I'm relatively new to spinning vinyl again, just how acceptable is this?  Do I return and exchange it?  Do I live with this?  What do I do?

Thanks.

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New Warped Record
« Reply #1 on: 23 Aug 2023, 11:32 pm »
Its not acceptable with the current vinyl prices, ask a refund, unless its a dirty cheap LP or a rare item, in this case you would use a vinyl ring.

vinyl_lady

« Reply #2 on: 23 Aug 2023, 11:53 pm »
Unacceptable. I would return it.

TJHUB

« Reply #3 on: 23 Aug 2023, 11:55 pm »
I agree.  I too thought unacceptable.  It's not rare, but I couldn't find it elsewhere.  I will look harder.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: 24 Aug 2023, 02:18 am by TJHUB »

GentleBender

« Reply #4 on: 24 Aug 2023, 12:02 am »
Here is a resource to find vinyl, or any other format. Not always the best price, but you can certainly shop around. https://www.discogs.com/

TJHUB

« Reply #5 on: 24 Aug 2023, 02:22 am »
Here is a resource to find vinyl, or any other format. Not always the best price, but you can certainly shop around. https://www.discogs.com/

Thanks.  I need to figure that site out.

vinyl_lady

« Reply #6 on: 24 Aug 2023, 02:25 am »