***SOLD*** Hagerman Cornet 2 Phono Preamp

G E

***SOLD*** Hagerman Cornet 2 Phono Preamp
« on: 9 Sep 2018, 08:12 pm »
Jim Hagerman designed Cornet 2 phono preamp is a Giant Killer!
$650 plus shipping

I built it 5 years ago per Hagerman's instructions. I have quite a few years of experience building electronics projects and this is a solid build. Hakko FX-888 soldering station and ring lighted magnifying glass used for all electrical connections. There are no cold solder joints or solder bridges in this build! Worked on first power up and has not missed a beat since.

I upgraded some of the caps to Auricaps (not cheap!) in critical locations per Jim's recommendation.

This phono preamp is an astonishing over-achiever. I used it with a Grado Reference Master cartridge on a Well Tempered Amadeus. This combo kicked digital out of the listening room. Its very responsive to high end interconnects and power cable upgrades.

I am selling because I just ordered Jim's Trumpet Classic phono pre.

Input supports hi level output from Moving Magnet / Moving Iron cartridges. If you have moving coil/low output cart, you will need a step up device, not included.

My system is only used during the weekends and I usually turn it off at night. I estimate this unit has about 2700 hours on it.

Jim sells the Cornet 3 for $459 with modern tubes, plastic case, solid state rectification and a wall wart power supply.

The metal case is as specified by Hagerman's Build of Materials, recommended power transformer and comes with a standard power cable. It also has the Auricap upgrades which cost about $180.

My Cornet 2 comes with the modern tubes I used for testing: Sovtek rectifier, ElectroHarminix 12AU7, and several vintage tubes including: two Amperex 12AX7 from the mid '60's. One has the partial orange globe Amperex lable, the other is an Amperex badged for another brand.