castrati recordings?

JP78

castrati recordings?
« on: 11 Sep 2009, 12:29 am »
hello, i've stumbled across some readings of the castrati...are there any recordings available of this? how do they compare to excellent countertenor recordings? sorry for the ignorance of questions but i'm a newbie to opera and trying out some new music.

thanks!

doorman

Re: castrati recordings?
« Reply #1 on: 11 Sep 2009, 02:23 am »
Not a connoisseur of the genre, but at http://www.uhfmag.com issue #44, iirc, there was a feature article on the castrati
Good luck!
Don

Blackmore

« Reply #2 on: 11 Sep 2009, 02:41 am »
There is apparently only one recording of a true castrati, Alessandro Moreschi.  The recording dates from 1902 and Moreschi was quite old by then.  Here's a link.  He is not in fine voice, but towards the end there is one high note that gives you a glimpse of what castrati in full voice could have sounded like. 
From what I've been told by professors, any recording after Moreschi is referred to as merely countertenor.  I assume that would be because the countertenors weren't 'altered' to achieve the high range.  I am prepared to be proven wrong, but that's what I remember from college music history.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wv-S3uoeTXg

TerryO

« Reply #3 on: 11 Sep 2009, 07:17 am »
There is apparently only one recording of a true castrati, Alessandro Moreschi.  The recording dates from 1902 and Moreschi was quite old by then.  Here's a link.  He is not in fine voice, but towards the end there is one high note that gives you a glimpse of what castrati in full voice could have sounded like. 
From what I've been told by professors, any recording after Moreschi is referred to as merely countertenor.  I assume that would be because the countertenors weren't 'altered' to achieve the high range.  I am prepared to be proven wrong, but that's what I remember from college music history.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wv-S3uoeTXg