Buying a Classic on Ebay

williamsims

Buying a Classic on Ebay
« on: 16 Oct 2012, 03:46 am »
Hi, Everyone, I'm in the process of acquiring a second-hand Classic (probably on eBay), and I was planning to send it to Standalog for cleaning, updating etc.  Is that my best option?  I'd also like to send along a cartridge to be mounted.  This is my first experience with a Well Tempered  product, so I'd appreciate any advice any of you have to offer.

Thanks -- Bill Sims

threadkiller

Re: Buying a Classic on Ebay
« Reply #1 on: 16 Oct 2012, 08:04 pm »
Stanalog is done, as has been mentioned here many times. He has no affiliation with WTL.
Contact Mike Pranka at Dynavector USA if you have concerns...

williamsims

« Reply #2 on: 16 Oct 2012, 08:57 pm »
Thanks for your helpful response -- I'll do just that.  As this is my first time using the forum, I obviously didn't know that this "has been mentioned here many times."

SteveFord

• Volunteer
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.
« Reply #3 on: 16 Oct 2012, 08:59 pm »
Other than dumping in the goo for the arm, oil for the platter and mounting the cartridge that should be about it.
Set the anti skating with the two posts closed up and be prepared to spend some time setting the tracking force. 
Go over the thread with CRC contact cleaner and shoot the adjusting knob for the thread top and bottom with same to hold the azimuth steady.
Get a good magnifying glass for adjusting the stylus tracking angle and enjoy your new turntable. 
That's a great one.

williamsims

« Reply #4 on: 16 Oct 2012, 09:08 pm »
Steve, thank you very much for your thoughtful reply.

Would it be worthwhile to send the TT to someone who could check it out and provide any upgrades?  I've been into analog for 30 years but have no experience with the WTC.

Thanks -- Bill

SteveFord

• Volunteer
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.
« Reply #5 on: 17 Oct 2012, 09:50 am »