Played the frequency listening game.

rahimlee54

Played the frequency listening game.
« on: 21 Feb 2010, 10:43 pm »
My wife got an Ipod Touch recently and they have a dog whistle app I was trying on my dog.  He or a couple other dogs didn't even pay it any attention, so I started seeing how high I could hear it.  We were visiting some friends and I decided they could try too.  They were both in their late 20s and they could only hear up to 15kHz, I was a little surprised.  Both my wife and I are only a few years younger than them and we could both easily go over 17kHz.  I know we have all tried it out back a few months ago, but I thought it was interesting how bad their hearing is. 

Jared

gthomas

Re: Played the frequency listening game.
« Reply #1 on: 22 Feb 2010, 05:05 am »
Although not an ENT doc, I am a doctor and I remember in training how we learned about hearing loss.  High frequency is the first to go and almost always in men first.  I am 64 and my wife is 54.  things will sound harsh to her and fine to me!  Remember that when you get a bunch of people together and do a shootout like they do over on AVS forum..  I always get a kick out of them matching cables and matching volume, but there is no way to match ears!! :Dbunch

PMAT

« Reply #2 on: 22 Feb 2010, 05:49 am »
Hear like a butterfly..... sing like a bee...  Hey you youngsters, I have hearing up to about 16,500 HZ without turning up the volume and I am 51. I do, however, have to hold my nose and blow my left ear canal open to get good imaging and sparkle with music. Consider yourself lucky if your hearing is good. Protect your hearing people!

low.pfile

« Reply #3 on: 22 Feb 2010, 06:10 am »
There are so many facets to this topic. Funn, I was thinking about just one of them today.

just a few....