Hello and questions

JWCoffman

Hello and questions
« on: 20 Oct 2020, 02:23 am »
Hi all,
My name is Jason.  I'm a relative noob with a few skills and lots of questions.
We recently remodeled our basement room into a TV room with a kitchen.  It's medium to large-ish 18'x27'x8' space with the TV on the 18' wall.  Ironically, the room was sonically better before the remodel (carpet and drop ceiling with acoustical tiles), but was absolutely hideous.  Now it's laminate flooring with drywall all around.  Hard surfaces everywhere.
I know the most important thing I can do is to treat the room more, but I want to do that with the speakers I will be using in mind.
I've pretty much resolved to the X-LS Encores all around with the matching center.  While we "technically" have the space for OB, the furniture situation makes that hard to get sufficiently away from the walls.  Down the road I'll be looking at doing OB for our living room which currently contains a vintage system that we like, but is limited because...vintage.  Given that this will primarily be a HT system which we also enjoy music while entertaining, I think these should fit the bill really well.
Onto my questions:
- I would love to do the bookshelf versions all around with plans on adding a couple H-frame OB subs underneath in the future as budget allows, but for the time being there wouldn't be much down low.  I'm fearful my current whale fart sub will be sacrilege to use with these and muddy up the works.  Would one H frame work well with the two floorstanding or would I be better off with two H frames under the bookshelves and just suffer through the interim until I can get them built?
- Behind one of the speakers is a hollow sliding closet door, treat it with a diffuser or absorption?  I can't really do much about the door itself.