Woodworker Trying Out Speaker Building

russellberg

Woodworker Trying Out Speaker Building
« on: 12 May 2020, 04:38 am »
I'm an experienced woodworker but a rank novice when it comes to electronics.  Im looking forward to learning a lot and have started with Danny's Servo Sub kit.

richidoo

Re: Woodworker Trying Out Speaker Building
« Reply #1 on: 12 May 2020, 01:15 pm »
Welcome to AudioCircle!

Starting with a kit is a wise choice. You get a good boost of confidence, plus you can listen to it while you read up on speaker design.
There's a lot to learn, but it's very fun. Please share your projects with us in the Enclosures Circle, Thanks!
Rich

jcsperson

« Reply #2 on: 12 May 2020, 01:43 pm »
Same here. The cabinets will be easy, but I don't know an amp from an ohm and I haven't soldered anything since building slot cars as a kid 50 years ago.

Welcome aboard.

Jazzman53

• Jazzman's DIY Electrostatic Loudspeaker Page
    • Jazzman's Electrostatic Loudspeaker Page
« Reply #3 on: 12 May 2020, 04:17 pm »
If you're interested; PM me and I send you my CAD drawings, parts list, etc... for the speaker shown below.  I just built a pair for a friend who prefers their sound over his $28K Legacy Whispers.  They require bi-amping with a digital crossover, and it's not an easy build-- but if you're up for it, they're freaking awesome.

Here's a video too: https://youtu.be/9HTKh58wYlo

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #4 on: 13 May 2020, 12:49 am »
Welcome  :thumb:

Wind Chaser

« Reply #5 on: 13 May 2020, 04:33 am »
Welcome to Audio Circle.  :D

russellberg

« Reply #6 on: 16 May 2020, 05:21 am »
That looks incredible!  What sort of speakers is the flat panel filled with?  Is the bottom driver an open baffle design?  I haven't watched your video yet, but I definitely will.
-Russell