4 (3.1%)
I would like to make my own speakers
2 (1.5%)

Total Members Voted: 130

Types of speakers we own or want

Roger A. Modjeski

Types of speakers we own or want
« on: 23 Sep 2011, 04:35 pm »
I am curious to see what kind of speakers members have in this forum. Feel free to comment in addition to the poll.

Other than a pair of Vandersteen Model 2s  I have been using or making electrostatic speakers since 1976. These include Beveridge, Acoustat, Old and New QUADs, KLH 9s, STAX, Dayton-Wright and many experimental ESLs leading to the Music Reference System which I have spoken of here.

I realize ESLs are not for everyone as we all have things we listen for. Some people think ESLs are not dynamic enough, though, within their SPL range there is no reason for this to be true.

Another complaint, and one I agree with is the poor bass response of panel speakers. This is something that has been poorly handled in the past. All bipolar planar speakers have "false bass" or "one note bass" which is achieved by resonating the diaphragm somewhere between 50-100 Hz. If they didn't purposely resonate the diaphragm there wouldn't be any bass at all due to the back-wave cancellation.

This is why I choose to make a special type of woofer that handles 30-100 Hz in non-traditionally tuned sealed box. I will reveal more about this special woofer when we get to the question on how moving coil speakers work. Then one can better appreciate how mine differs. One hint I can give is that traditional subs work from the crossover point down to the resonant frequency of the woofer in the box which we want to make as low as possible because that defines the low frequency limit. Pushing that lower limit down causes many problems which become apparent when we know the physics of what makes a cone driver have flat response. My woofer works entirely below the box resonance down to a frequency that is determined by another part of the crossover and can be set to any low frequency one wishes.