Oiling Speaker Cabinets

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Oiling Speaker Cabinets
« on: 21 Nov 2018, 08:29 am »
Aldcoll once told me which oil to use on Daedalus speaker cabinets, but I have forgotten. I have a bottle of lemon oil that I use on some furniture. Is there any reason why I cannot use it on my Apollo speakers?

Regards,

Michael

ArthurDent

• Don't Panic / Mostly Harmless
Re: Oiling Speaker Cabinets
« Reply #1 on: 21 Nov 2018, 08:49 am »
Michael,

Lou recommends Formby's, which is what I would guess Aldcoll noted, but any good furniture lemon oil should work fine. You & yours have a safe & Happy Thanksgiving.
Cheers,
JD

rodrigaj

« Reply #2 on: 21 Nov 2018, 04:07 pm »
As a woodworker myself, I stay away from all lemon oils (including Formby's).

With a finish such as that on Daedalus speakers, nothing is needed but a gentle wiping / buffing with a microfiber cloth is needed. Lou uses a linseed oil, pine resin varnish on top of a penetrating linseed oil ("Danish Oil"). It is truly a world class finish.

If you do use lemon oil, "less is more". 

Elizabeth

• So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
« Reply #3 on: 21 Nov 2018, 04:19 pm »
Back in the late 60's through 70's when I owned a pair of JB Lansing with an oiled finish cabinet, I used linseed oil once a year. the longer I had them the better they looked.
Now everything has a polyurethane finish, and all they need is a damp cloth wipe off.

aldcoll

• Champagne Taste on a Water Budget
« Reply #4 on: 21 Nov 2018, 07:56 pm »
Yes it is the Homer Formbys Lemon Oil that Lou recommends.  I use a fluffy cloth to buff out.  One can buff them as they are but the oil helps. 

And when you are though with your fee l free to come down and do mine. 

Don't oil them is you are going to box or move them.  Pretty hard to get a hand on them.  I did yours @ 60 days before we boxed them up.

Alan

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven