Rythmik Audio DS12

reflex

• Look & Listen Mobile, Alabama
Rythmik Audio DS12
« on: 15 Mar 2008, 04:27 am »
I received my Rythmik Audio DS12 kit a week ago tomorrow and began the cabinet building process this past Monday.  First, I'd like to say how impressed I was with the quality of the driver itself.  Very well made with excellent binding posts that had the servo cable connected to mate via a connector to the output cable of the amplifer.  The amplifier...impressive as well.  The picture on the website does not quite do it justice.  To see it in person and feel the weight of this well made servo amp tells that Rythmik is not trying to cut corners on this kit.  I've been selling audio for over 30 years and not many sub amps are as well made as this one.  Certainly nothing that comes close in price.  I got the one with the 12/24db crossover slope selection option and an additional board is added to allow the choice.  My only complaint would be that this resides inside the cabinet, so making a change requires removal of the amp module.  If the switch were remotely located and connected to the module by a cable it would be a more useful option.  Some music systems will blend better with the 12db slope rather than the recommended 24db.  Mine is currently set at 12db.

I built a front-firing cabinet rather than the down-firing that the provided (on the website) plans spec.  It was very easy to modify the dimensions and bracing to suit what I had in mind.  My sub measures 16.5w x 16.5h x 19.0d and is made out of 3/4" mdf.  Cutting the mdf and forming the braces was a relatively easy task...the hardest part was being patient while the glue dried!  I still need to remove the speaker and amp module and finish off the cabinet to give it better cosmetic appeal, but my impatience to hear it said that can wait.